Bayern Leverkusen have won their first ever Bundesliga title as Xabi Alonso ended Bayern Munich dominance 

Bayern Leverkusen have won their first ever Bundesliga title as Xabi Alonso ended Bayern Munich dominance 


🚨 ʙᴀʏᴇʀ ʟᴇᴠᴇʀᴋᴜꜱᴇɴ ʜᴀᴠᴇ ᴡᴏɴ ᴛʜᴇɪʀ  ꜰɪʀꜱᴛ-ᴇᴠᴇʀ ʙᴜɴᴅᴇꜱʟɪɢᴀ ᴛɪᴛʟᴇ!! 🇩🇪🏆xᴀʙɪ ᴀʟᴏɴꜱᴏ ᴇɴᴅᴇᴅ ʙᴀʏᴇʀɴ ᴅᴏᴍɪɴᴀɴᴄᴇ! 🏆❤️🖤

Bayern Leverkusen have won their first ever Bundesliga title as Xabi Alonso ended Bayern Munich dominance











Xabi Alonso’s Bayer Leverkusen win first Bundesliga title


Keller: Bayer Leverkusen have done something truly remarkable (1:06)


Apr 15, 2024, 06:20 PM

Bayer Leverkusen won the first Bundesliga title in their history with a 5-0 win over Werder Bremen on Sunday, securing the championship with five games to play.


Alonso’s team remain unbeaten in all competitions this season having broken Bayern Munich’s German record of 32 games without a defeat in all competitions in February. The run now stands at 43 in all competitions.


– Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (U.S.)


Leverkusen took the lead in the 25th minute through Victor Boniface’s penalty, and a long-range strike from Granit Xhaka in the second half added comfort to the score in front a rapturous BayArena crowd.


Florian Wirtz added the final touches with a superb effort in the 68th minute that left Michael Zetterer with almost no chance in the Werder Bremen goal. Wirtz scored again with a few minutes remaining, causing some fans to run onto the pitch. Wirtz and other players motioned the fans off the grass, and the rest of the game was played under the smoke of pyrotechnics.


There was another disruption as Wirtz completed his hat trick with more fans racing out of the stands, causing the referee to blow the full-time whistle and sparking scenes of sheer jubilation among players, fans and staff alike.


The result means Bayern’s run of 11 consecutive Bundesliga titles has come to an end, with the Bavarian giants and Stuttgart both 16 points behind.



Xabi Alonso has led an extraordinary turnaround to help Bayer Leverkusen win their first Bundesliga title. Photo by Lars Baron/Getty Images

It caps a remarkable transformation for Leverkusen since Alonso took over as coach in October 2022. The club was second-bottom at the time after eight rounds of last season, with the former Spain international eventually leading them to a sixth-placed finish.


That momentum carried into this season, with the signings of Boniface, Xhaka, Jonas Hofmann and Alejandro Grimaldo all acclimatising to the Rhineland-based club with ease and playing crucial roles as they won the title.


The silverware helps rid Leverkusen of the unwanted ‘Neverkusen’ tag that has plagued them as Germany’s perennial runners-up. They have finished second in the league five times, three more than any other side in the country who hadn’t won the title until this season, and last won a trophy in 1993.


In 2002, the club infamously lost both the German Cup and Champions League finals as well as surrendering a five-point Bundesliga lead in the last three rounds of the season to finish the year trophy-less.


This season, however, a 3-0 win over Bayern in February helped alleviate fears of a similar caving and demonstrated that this Leverkusen team was capable of shaking off those historical concerns.


Alonso confirmed in March that he will remain as head coach of the team for next season despite mounting speculation linking him to Bayern, who are parting ways with Thomas Tuchel at the end of the term, and Liverpool, whose manager Jurgen Klopp is leaving after nearly nine years at the helm.


Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyInterest-Based Ads

© ESPN Enterprises, Inc. All rights reserved.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.